Somerset Constituencies

UKIP Bath and Somerset branch covers all the parliamentary constituencies in the ceremonial county of Somerset:

  • Bath
  • Bridgwater & West Somerset
  • North Somerset
  • North East Somerset
  • Somerton & Frome
  • Taunton Deane
  • Wells
  • Weston super Mare
  • Yeovil

Our role is to coordinate local campaigning activity, to nominate and stand UKIP candidates for election as members of Parliament, to build up our party and to carry out administrative functions for our party in the eight constituencies.

UKIP has a track-record of electoral success in Somerset.

In the 2015 General Election, UKIP’s Stephen Fitzgerald took second place in Bridgwater and West Somerset with 19.2% of the vote ahead of Labour and the LibDems. In North Somerset Ian Kealey took third place with 13% of the vote ahead of the LibDems. In Somerton and Frome Alan Dimmick took third place with 10.7% ahead of the Greens and Labour. In Taunton Deane Laura Bailhache took third place on 12% ahead of Labour, and Greens. In Wells, Helen Hims took third place on 9.9% ahead of Labour and Greens. In Yeovil Simon Smedley took third place on 13.4% ahead of Labour and Greens. In North East Somerset Ernest Blaber took third place on 12% ahead of the LibDem candidate (Wera Hobhouse).

In 2015; Richard Scammel was elected as a UKIP Councillor in Sedgemoor (Bridgwater Dunwear Ward) with an 18.8% vote share and Lorna Corke in Highbridge & Burnham Marine Ward with 10.9% (both UKIP gains).

Ivor Jones was elected as a UKIP Councillor for Minehead Central from 2015 to 2019 on West Somerset District Council

error: Content is protected !!