New constituencies in Bath & Somerset

The nine existing constituencies we have known in the County of Somerset are changing. The independent Boundary Commission for England has reviewed all existing parliamentary constituencies with the aim of evening out the number of voters in each seat. Their proposals have been accepted by Parliament, which means the next General Election will no longer be fought on the old Somerset County constituencies of  Bath, Bridgwater and West Somerset, North Somerset, North East Somerset, Somerton and Frome, Taunton Deane, Wells, Weston super Mare and Yeovil.

From the next General Election we now have eleven constituencies across the County. Some are new seats and some are named similarly to the previous ones (but some boundary differences may still exist).


Bridgwater – Bridgwater, Burnham-on-Sea and Highbridge

Frome and East Somerset – Frome, Midsomer Norton and Radstock

Glastonbury and Somerton – Glastonbury, Somerton, Castle Cary, Langport, Street and Wincanton

North East Somerset and Hanham – Keynsham plus some parts of South Gloucestershire to the west of Bath

Somerset North – Portishead, Clevedon

Taunton and Wellington – Taunton, Wellington, Norton Fitzwarren and Staplegrove

Tiverton and Minehead – Minehead, Watchet and Williton, Hinkley Point C plus Tiverton across the Devon border

Wells and Mendip Hills – Wells, Axbridge, Cheddar, Shepton Mallet and Yatton


Yeovil – Yeovil, Chard, Crewkerne and Ilminster

This has no effect on local elections and our three existing local authorities remain unchanged,  namely Bath & North East Somerset, North Somerset and Somerset Council.

Cropped Ukip Logo 2022 Gold Invisible Background.png
error: Content is protected !!